The State Of New Mexico

Admitted to the United States on January 6, 1912, New Mexico is the 47th state. It’s long been considered a Mountain State and if the fifth largest sized state when compared to the other states, however, it’s far less densely populated.

Long inhabited by Native Americans, it was colonized by Spanish in 1598 and considered to be one of the Imperial Spanish Viceroyalty in New Spain. At one point in time, it was part of the Independent section of Mexico and soon became a United States territory.

At present, it has the highest population of Hispanics and many of these are descendants of the Spanish colonists who originally settled in the area in the 1500s.

It also has the fourth largest number of Native American’s after California, Oklahoma and the state of Arizona. Tribes such as the Navajo, the Pueblo, and the Apache are dominant for the Native American tribes.

New Mexico has a culture that has largely been shaped by the Hispanic and the Native American influence and the flag itself is representative of this with scarlet and gold which are the colors of royalty for Spain.

Located in the southwestern portion of the United States, it enjoys a diverse terrain that includes the Chihuahuan Desert as well as the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. Santa Fe is the capital and was founded in 1610.

Renowned for upscale spas and fantastic Spanish Colonial architecture, it enjoys a vibrant art scene and has the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum that features many great paintings and even an open-air opera.

With rose colored desert and broken mesas, it also boasts high snow capped peaks. In spite of the fact that many consider New Mexico to be arid, it also has a heavily forested mountain wilderness that covers the state near the north. New Mexico has very little water for the size of the state that it is.